Gholas show, recording, booking and general information and updates.

Monthly Archives: September 2010



“This New Jersey-based quartet has carved out its own niche within the city’s heavy music scene, blowing eardrums and dropping jaws with their spaced-out progressive metal compositions. Equal parts Mogwai, Mouth of the Architect, Russian Circles, Jesu, and Sonic Youth, Gholas are a rare and compelling sort of band, one with its own aesthetic, sound, and raw, beating heart.” – Kim Kelly

загадка is finished and off to the presses. We have been working on this album for the better part of this year and we couldn’t be more excited to finally present the full realization of our newest full-length. The Record will be available in a limited run of CDs and pay-what-you-want download (for now- we want vinyl just as badly as you do.). Pre orders will begin immediately and expect to ship around the end of the month. Furthermore, every pre-order will come with a free and immediate high-quality (v0 mp3) download. You can place your order for the CD HERE, or via pay-what-you-want download HERE.

загадка clocks in at just under an hour and chronicles a long, arduous journey into the unknown that challenges the very sanity of the traveler. Loneliness, paranoia, and the promise of release that accompany such trials are all visited throughout the record. Gholas has worked with people that all tapped into these emotions to create the final, completed vision.

Recorded by Joe Smiley at Red Planet earlier this year and mastered by James Plotkin (Khanate,Old); the whole shebang was tied together by Drew Speziale (Circle Takes The Square).

Preview The Album right here:

01 A Shape
02 Tycho Dawn
03 Behind Every Man is 30 Ghosts
04 …(The Emissary)
05 From Hundreds of Millions of Miles
06 Mobius Loop
07 9000 Reasons
08 The Eye of Japetus
09 My God

Pre-orders are availabe NOW through Communitas Media. You can order in any one of the fine combinations below.

Download загадка
Pay What You Want- v0 MP3s

Download загадка for whatever you feel like paying (Really). you have the entire album in a few clicks.

Purchase загадка CD and Receive an instant download of the album

9 songs, 58 minutes. This gets you the CD and an instantaneous Download of the new record, Загадка.

Purchase загадка CD and Our Debut EP on Vinyl

This package gets you the NEW record, “Загадка” on CD + instant download as well as “Here I Am, Here Is Infinity”, on pink vinyl for only $5 more.